In Colorado, the law requires you to notify your employer of an injury within four days.
And you must report the injury in writing.
The best way to notify your employer in writing is to file a worker’s claim for compensation form.
Some things to keep in mind when you report a work injury:
- If you don’t report an injury within the four-day period, a judge can reduce some of your benefits.
- The statute of limitations for most claims in Colorado is 2 years. This means that most claims must be filed with the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation within two (2) years of the injury.
- The sooner you report your workplace injury, the better.
From the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation:
“ if you do not report your injury to your employer in writing within 4 working days, you may be penalized and lose up to one day’s compensation for each day’s delay, if your employer has posted a sign requiring the 4 days’ written notice. If you are physically or mentally unable to file a written report within the specified time frame, it may be filed on your behalf by another person who has notice of your injury.“ Colorado Division of workers’ com FAQs.
Problems you may run into:
- Don’t believe your employer or insurance company if they tell you your claim is denied simply because you didn’t give the required notice within four days. You have a right to have your case decided by a judge, not the insurance company.
- Some supervisors or bosses don’t want to file an injury report because they think it will reflect poorly on them so they may suggest that you just wait a few days and see how you feel. Don’t do it – file a report.
- Your employer may or may not have a form for you to fill out. Even if they don’t, write out a short statement and turn it in to a manger. Keep a copy for your records.
The best way to report your injury in writing is to file a worker’s claim for compensation form.
There are many deadlines and exceptions to those deadlines in the Colorado workers’ compensation system. An experienced workers’ comp. attorney can help you figure out whether your claim was filed on time.
Ready for help?
Contact us now for your free consultation.